RSS

The first passion

20 Jan

I’d like to say that I am a hugely devoted follower of Christ and that I set aside time daily to make sure that my spiritual needs are met and that I am growing closer to God, but….well….at least I am not a liar.  I wasn’t raised going to church, which puts me at a huge disadvantage as far as developing routines that are centered around God and His Word. My faith is coming to me slowly. I have a suspicion that if I devoted more time to reading the Bible and praying then I would become more pious and less prone to stereotypical Christianity that only seeks God when times are tough.

I like reading the Bible. I enjoy praying. I feel good when I move towards God.

My oldest daughter is preparing for her first communion right now and I am having a hard time with it. My husband was raised Catholic, but I wonder sometimes if he is more Catholic by culture than by religion. I’m not sure that I am comfortable with all of the teachings of the Catholic church and I have a nagging feeling that my faith would flourish among a slightly different group of people. It’s not something that I have explored in too much depth yet, but the feeling is there and it’s not going away any time soon.

This is currently one of favorite songs for prayer and meditation…

“Your Words Are Spirit And Life” by Bernadette Farrell

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 20, 2012 in God, Música, Spiritual Development

 

Leave a Reply

 
